Adjust text size:

Psst! This one's already gone.

Beethoven Special!

Leif Segerstam, conductor
Reetta Haavisto, soprano
Juha Kotilainen, bass
Chorus Cathedralis Aboensis

Ludwig van Beethoven:
Die Ruinen von Athen op. 113
Es ist vollbracht (Die Ehrenproften WoO 97)
Kantate auf den Tod Kaiser Josephs II, WoO 87

Dedicated to Beethoven, the most influential Viennese Classical and early Romantic composer, this concert features some of his less well known vocal works. Es is vollbracht (It is fulfilled) provides a grand opening. Die Ruinen von Athen (The Ruins of Athens) is a similarly grandiose suite of incidental music to the play by August von Kotzebue. Kantate auf den Tod Kaiser Josephs II (Cantata on the death of Emperor Joseph II) was written by Beethoven at the age of 19 but was not premiered until after the composer’s death, in 1884.

The length of the concert is approx. 2 h.



Turku Concert Hall
11.10.2018 19:00
23.00 € | 18.00 € | 9.00 €