Adjust text size:

Birds in the Morning

John Storgårds, conductor
Katherine Bryan, flute
Turku Philharmonic Orchestra

Erik Bergman: Flute Concerto ‘Birds in the Morning’, op. 89
Ralph Vaughan Williams: The Lark Ascending
Sebastian Fagerlund: Chamber Symphony
Edward Elgar: Enigma Variations, op. 36

Birds in the morning symbolise human thoughts and imagination that spring into life like day follows night, as Bergman wrote of his Flute Concerto. Here, it is brought to life by acclaimed British flautist Katherine Bryan. The Lark Ascending was inspired by the eponymous poem by George Meredith. Composer-in-Residence Fagerlund's Chamber Symphony was enthusiastically received at its premiere by the Tapiola Sinfonietta under John Storgårds in 2022. The concluding number on the programme, Elgar’s Enigma Variations, is a true timeless classic.

Turku Concert Hall
14.09.2023 19:00

Duration c. 1 h 45 min with intermission.

29.50 € | 24.50 € | 10.50 €