Adjust text size:

Psst! This one's already gone.

Byzantine Spring

Olli Mustonen, conductor
Karen Gomyo, violin
Turku Philharmonic Orchestra

Ralph Vaughan Williams: Fantasia on a Theme by Thomas Tallis
Sergei Prokofjev: Violin Concerto no. 1 in D major
Olli Mustonen: Symphony no. 2 ‘Johannes Angelos’

Violinist Karen Gomyo is celebrated around the world for her technical skill and musical prowess. She now visits Turku to perform Prokofiev’s Violin Concerto no. 1. Flanking the concerto are two works that look towards the past. Vaughan Williams wrote a work for strings based on a theme by 16th-century composer Thomas Tallis, while polymath Olli Mustonen drew inspiration for his Symphony no. 2 ‘Johannes Angelos’ from the eponymous novel by Mika Waltari, set in the Byzantine Empire in the year 1453.


Turku Concert Hall
11.05.2023 19:00

The length of the concert is about 1 h 45 min. Intermission.

27.50 € | 22.50 € | 10.50 €