Adjust text size:

Psst! This one's already gone.

Finnish Sounds

Ari Rasilainen, conductor
Ulf Wallin, violin
Turku Philharmonic Orchestra

Jean Sibelius: Karelia Overture op. 10
Einojuhani Rautavaara: Violin Concerto
Erkki Melartin: Symphony no. 6 op. 100

In the spring, Ari Rasilainen conducted an acclaimed performance of Melartin’s Fifth Symphony, and now the journey continues with his Sixth. Rautavaara wrote the final section of his Violin Concerto in New York, inspired by the skyscrapers. The Concerto is here performed by Swedish violinist Ulf Wallin, who does justice to its splendour. The opening number is Sibelius’s Karelia Overture, which along with his Karelia Suite was adapted by Sibelius from the incidental music he wrote for a historical tableau at a function of the Viipuri Nation student guild.



Turku Concert Hall
26.10. 19:00

The length of the concert is about 1 h 45 min. Intermission.

€27.50 € | €22.50 € | €10.50 €