Adjust text size:

Psst! This one's already gone.


Daníel Bjarnason, conductor
Víkingur Ólafsson, piano

Benjamin Britten: Passacaglia from the opera Peter Grimes
Daníel Bjarnason: Processions (soloist)
Sebastian Fagerlund: Drifts
Dmitri Šostakovitš: Symphony no. 1 in F minor

The opera Peter Grimes was the breakthrough work of Benjamin Britten. The impressive Passacaglia that is included in
the opera is often performed as a separate number. Víkingur Ólafsson, a pianist dubbed the “Glenn Gould of Iceland” by the New York Times, performs as soloist in Processions by Icelandic composer and conductor Daníel Bjarnason, a package of rhythmic surprises and magical harmonies making full use of the range of the piano. The concert concludes with Fagerlund’s tumultuous Drifts and Shostakovich’s dramatic Symphony no. 1.

The length of the concert is approx. 2 h.