Adjust text size:

Psst! This one's already gone.

Only online concert: Joonas Kokkonen 100

Olli Mustonen, conductor
Senja Rummukainen, cello 
Turku Philharmonic Orchestra

Felix Mendelssohn: Ruy Blas Overture op. 95
Joonas Kokkonen: Cello Concerto
Johannes Brahms: Symphony no. 3 in F major op. 90

Joonas Kokkonen is one of Finland’s most celebrated composers of classical music of all time. The year 2021 marks the centenary of his birth. This programme focuses on his Cello Concerto – his only venture into the concerto genre. The soloist is Senja Rummukainen, one of Finland’s top-notch young musicians. She won the international Turku Cello Competition in 2014 and placed sixth in the international Tchaikovsky Competition in 2019. In this programme, Kokkonen is bookended by German Romantics.

Turku Concert Hall
5.3. 19:00

The length of the concert is about 1 h 45 min. Intermission.