Adjust text size:

Psst! This one's already gone.

Philosophers' Symposium

Janne Nisonen, conductor
Tami Pohjola, violin

Joseph Haydn: Symphony no. 22 in E flat major, ‘The Philosopher’
Leonard Bernstein: Serenade (after Plato´s dialogue Symposium)
Johannes Brahms: Symphony no. 3 in F major op. 90

Haydn wrote more than 100 symphonies, and his no. 22 is one of the more meditative ones. It is speculated that the sub-title ‘The Philosopher’ comes from the apparent question-and-answer dialogue between melody and counterpoint in the first movement. Tami Pohjola, a Finnish violinist whose career is on a rapid ascent, gets to show her skills in Bernstein’s Serenade. Inspired by the dialogue Symposium by Plato, it likewise features a dialogue between prominent characters. The concluding Symphony by Brahms has as its cornerstone the pitches F–A–F in a reference to Brahms’s personal motto “frei aber froh” (free but happy).

The length of the concert is approx. 2 h.



Turku Concert Hall
22.11.2018 19:00
23.00 € | 18.00 € | 9.00 €