Adjust text size:

Psst! This one's already gone.


Leif Segerstam, conductor
Janne Mertanen, piano

Jean Sibelius: Laetare anima mea (Cantique) op. 77 no. 1
Frédéric Chopin: Piano Concerto no. 1 in E minor op. 11
Jean Sibelius: Lemminkäinen op. 22

Chopin is the number one name in piano music. Himself a pianist, he wrote extremely idiomatically for the instrument and influenced a great many later composers. Chopin’s Piano Concerto no. 1 is here performed by Janne Mertanen, one of Finland’s finest pianists. The Concerto is a display of brilliance with the piano holding centre stage throughout. Sibelius’s suite Lemminkäinen comprises four movements, the best-known of which is the second one, Swan of Tuonela.

The length of the concert is approx. 2 h.


Turku Concert Hall
05.04.2019 19:00
23.00 € | 18.00 € | 9.00 €