Adjust text size:

Psst! This one's already gone.

Red and white

Tuomas Hannikainen, conductor
Laura Mikkola, piano

Jean Sibelius: In memoriam op. 59
Serge Prokofiev: Piano Concerto no. 2 in G minor op. 16
Jean Sibelius: Karelia Music

Prokofiev wrote his Second Pianist Concerto in 1912–1913, in memory of a pianist friend who committed suicide. Its manuscript was destroyed in the upheavals of 1917, and so the composer rewrote the work in 1923. This complex concerto is paired with a previously unperformed reconstructed version of Sibelius’s familiar Karelia Suite. Painter Akseli Gallén-Kallela was a good friend of the composer’s and one of the sources of inspiration for the Karelia music; a screening of his paintings brings a visual dimension to the concert.

In association with:



Concert picture:

Akseli Gallen-Kallela: Keitele, 1904, oil on canvas 50x65cm, private collection. Photo: Gallen-Kallelan Museo / Katja Hagelstam


Turku Concert Hall
17.09.2015 19:00
21.00 € | 16.00 € | 9.00 €