Adjust text size:

Psst! This one's already gone.

Scandinavian Charm

Jukka Iisakkila, conductor
Christina Åstrand, violin

Carl Nielsen: Helios Overture op. 17
Otto Malling: Concert Fantasie op. 20
Johan  Svendsen: Romance op. 26 
Niels Wilhelm Gade: Capriccio 
Peter Lange-Müller: Romance op. 63 
Igor Stravinsky: Firebird Suite (1945)

Christina Åstrand from Denmark is one of the most prominent violinists in Scandinavia. In this programme of Norwegian and Danish music, she performs four works by composers from the turn of the 20th century: Malling, Svendsen, Gade and Lange-Müller. Romantic and energetic, they complement each other in a programme of northern charm. The concert opens with the Helios Overture, one of Nielsen’s best known minor orchestral works, and concludes with a taste of Russia in Stravinsky’s fantastic suite from the ballet Firebird. 

See this event on Facebook

Turku Concert Hall
03.10.2019 19:00

2 h. Intermission.

24.00 € | 19.00 € | 9.00 €