Adjust text size:

Sinuhe, the Lonesome One

Jonathan Stockhammer, conductor
Mikko Multamäki, double bass
Turku Philharmonic Orchestra

Hannah Kendall: The Spark Catchers
Pertti Jalava: Sinuhe – Concerto for Double Bass and Orchestra (world premiere)
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart: Symphony No. 41 in C major ‘Jupiter’

Kendall has charmed audiences with her broad-minded approach to musical composition. The Spark Catchers was premiered at the BBC Proms in 2017. Turku-based composer Jalava wrote his double bass concerto for Mikko Multamäki, Principal Double Bass of the Turku Philharmonic. The subtitle refers to one of its movements. “The fatalistic humour, profound philosophy and adventures amidst toxic intrigues in the novel Sinuhe the Egyptian [by Mika Waltari] made a huge impression on me,” Jalava says of the background to the work. The programme closes with one of the greatest hits of classical music, Mozart’s upbeat Jupiter Symphony.

Turku Concert Hall
22.09.2023 18:00

Duration c. 1 h 45 min with intermission.

29.50 € | 24.50 € | 10.50 €