Adjust text size:
01.10.2021 18:55

An evening with John Storgårds

John Storgårds, conductor
Rosanne Philippens, violin
Turku Philharmonic Orchestra

Lauri Ikonen: Symphony no. 6 in E minor (world premiere)
Béla Bartók: Violin Concerto no. 1
Anton Bruckner: Symphony no. 6 in A major WAB 106

Rosanne Philippens has a skill for communicating via music that has made her one of the most popular violinists in the Netherlands. Bartók’s Violin Concerto was not premiered until after the composer’s death, several decades after it was written. This programme of forgotten works continues with the long-delayed premiere of Symphony no. 6 by National Romantic composer Lauri Ikonen, a contemporary of Sibelius. The programme, conducted by Pro Finlandia award recipient John Storgårds, concludes with Bruckner’s florid and inventive Symphony no. 6.

Safety instructions during coronavirus pandemic.