Adjust text size:
22.9. 18:55

For the Uncommon Woman

Daniela Musca, conductor
Elina Vähälä, violin
Tanja Nisonen, horn

Turku Philharmonic Orchestra

Joan Tower: Fanfare for the Uncommon Woman
Ethel Smyth: Concerto for Violin and Horn
Edward Elgar: Falstaff

Italian conductor Daniela Musica makes her Turku début in a programme beginning with music by Grammy-winning US composer Joan Tower and featuring a double concerto by Ethel Smyth, performed by Elina Vähälä, one of Finland’s most celebrated violinists, and the Turku Philharmonic’s own Deputy Principal Horn, Tanja Nisonen. The concert concludes with Falstaff, a rarely performed tone poem by Elgar painting a symphonic picture of the eponymous Shakespearean character introduced in the play Henry IV.