Adjust text size:
23.02.2023 18:55

To the Memory of a King

Joseph Swensen, conductor
Edgar Moreau, cello
Turku Philharmonic Orchestra

Robert Schumann: Overture to the opera Genoveva
Robert Schumann: Cello Concerto in A minor op. 129
Edward Elgar: Symphony no. 2 in E flat major op. 63

Edgar Moreau is a rising star in the musical world. At the age of 17, he won 2nd prize in the International Tchaikovsky Competition, and he has appeared with prominent musicians such as András Schiff and Gustavo Dudamel. Here, he teams up with Joseph Swensen, holder of an honorary doctorate from the University of St Andrews in Scotland. This utterly Romantic programme contains some of the finest music written by Elgar and Schumann; Elgar’s Second Symphony was written as a memorial for the late King Edward VII.